Official Name: Republic of Angola.

Independence date: November 11, 1975.

Capital: Luanda.

Politic regime: Parliamentary Democracy.

Official Language: Portuguese.

Governmental regime: Presidential.

President:  José Eduardo dos Santos.

Area: 1.246.700km2.

Extension of the Atlantic Coast: 1.650 Km

Land boundaries: 4.837 Km

Location: Angola is located in the western region of southern Africa, south of the equator with the following spatial data:

  • Latitude – North – 04°22`G / South – 18°02`G.
  • Longitude – East – 24°05`EG / West – 11°41’EG

Borders: Democratic Republic of Congo, Congo, Namibia, Republic of Zambia, Atlantic Ocean

Projected Population 2014: 24 million and 300 thousand inhabitants, the women represent 52 percent of the Angolan population.

Local Time: GMT+1.

Currency: Kwanza

Seasons: Rain, warmest season between September and May and the Cacimbo or dry season which is less warm between May and September.

Angola has eighteen (18) provinces:

Province Extension Capital
Bengo 33.016 Caxito
Benguela 39.826 Benguela
Bié 70.314 Kuito
Cabinda 7.270 Cabinda
Kuando-Kubango 199.049 Menongue
Kwanza-Norte 24.110 N’dalatando
Kwanza-Sul 55.600 Sumbe
Cunene 87.342 Ondjiva
Huambo 34.270 Huambo
Huíla 79.022 Lubango
Luanda 2.417 Luanda
Lunda-Norte 103.000 Dundo
Lunda-Sul 77.367 Saurimo
Malanje 97.602 Malanje
Moxico 223.023 Luena
Namibe 57.091 Namibe
Uíge 58.698 Uíge
Zaire 40.130 M’Banza Congo